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CONTROL 
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How Are Offenders Placed on 
Transitional Control?

The Parole Board will review cases for 

Transitional Control (TC).  The Parole Board 

can recommend or deny the offender for 

Transitional Control based upon the criteria 

established in Administrative Rule 5120-12-

01, Establishment of a Transitional Control 
Program and Minimum Criteria Defining 
Eligibility.  If the offender is recommended, 

the sentencing judge at the county will be 

sent a certified letter advising him or her 

of the recommendation and giving them 

the opportunity to veto the release of the 

offender into the program, if non-SB143.  

The judge is given 35 days to respond.  If the 

judge does not veto TC then the Bureau of 

Community Sanctions begins the process 

of a placement into a halfway house.

For additional information contact:

Ohio Department of
Rehabilitation and Correction

Office of Victim Services
4545 Fisher Road, Suite D
Columbus, Ohio  43228

Victim Line: (888) 842-8464
Office: (614) 728-1976

Fax: (614) 728-1980
drc.victim.services@odrc.state.oh.us

Bureau of Community Sanctions
Office: (614) 752-1188

Fax: (614) 728-9946

Ohio Parole Board
Office: (614) 752-1200

Fax: (614) 752-0600

How Are Victims Involved?
Victim notification shall be made prior to 
the transfer to Transitional Control pursuant 
to section 2930.16 of the Ohio Revised 
Code.  If the victim submits a statement 
to the Parole Board in a timely manner, it 
shall be considered in deciding whether 
transfer to the Transitional Control program 
is appropriate.
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What is Transitional Control?
Transitional Control (TC) is a program 
established by the Ohio Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction for the 
purpose of closely monitoring an offender’s 
adjustment to community supervision 
during the final 180 days of his or her 
sentence.  The offender will be confined in 
a licensed facility such as a halfway house 
or an approved residence under electronic 
monitoring.

An offender placed into the Transitional 
Control program will remain in the status 
of “inmate” but can obtain permission 
to leave the facility to engage in 
employment, vocational training, treatment 
programming, maintaining ties with family 
and other approved activities.

The offender is required to remain at the 
facility at all times unless authorized to 
leave.  Leaving without permission or failure 
to return at the designated time may be 
considered an escape.

Who is Eligible for Transitional Control?
To be eligible for Transitional Control an offender must meet the following criteria:

• Not serving a mandatory a sentence required by statute to be served in prison.
 Examples of mandatory sentences include convictions for gun specifications,
 repeat violent offenders (RVO), major drug offender (MDO) and some drug offenses.
 
• Not serving a sentence of “Life” for a crime committed on or after October 19, 1981;

• Not serving a sentence of “Life without Parole”;

• Not disapproved by the Court of Common Pleas of the county of conviction for those 
 crimes committed on or after July 1, 1996, unless serving a total aggragate sentence 
 of more than 2 years;

• Not have a record of more than two commitments for an offense of violence   
 including the present commitment;

• Not currently confined in Restrictive Housing or Extended restrictive Housing as a 
 result of disciplinary action;

• Not subject to: a detainer for a sentence imposed but not served, a supervision 
 violation, an indictment for a felony charge, and/or U.S. Immigration actions;

• Not convicted for any sex offense;

• Not convicted for an arson offense;

• Not convicted for an escape offense (exluding escapes related to absconding  
 supervision);

• Have a current security status of Level 1,2 or 3.


