Ohio VINE is an automated service that allows you
to track an offender’s custody status over the phone
or internet in Ohio's county jails, Department of

'Rehabilitation and Correction, and Department of

| Youth Services. You can register to be notified by
phone, text and/or email if an offender is released,
transferred, or escapes.

Write down the following information, tear
off this panel, and keep in a safe place:

Offender Name

Offender/Booking Number

Your four-digit PIN

+  Write down your PIN and keep it in a safe
place. For safety reasons, do not share this
information with others.

+ If you do not answer a notification call,
VINE will leave a message and will continue
calling back until you enter your PIN or until
up to 24 hours have passed.

+ Do not register a phone number that rings
to a switchboard.

= You can register multiple phone numbers
and email addresses for notifications.

+ Ifyou forget your PIN, call the toll-free
number and press zero. You will be
transferred to an operator who can help you
reset your PIN or cancel notification.

+ Operators are available 24 hours a day,
seven days a week to assist you.

»  VINE is confidential.

# Download on the

L ¢ App Store

P> Google Play

Search for "VINELink"
from your mobile device app store.

ADDITIONAL VICTIMS SERVICES
FROM THE OHIO DEPARTMENT OF
REHABILITATION AND CORRECTION

The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and
Correction (ODRC) also offers information, referral,
and advocacy services for crime victims whose
offender is in the adult corrections system. ODRC
also provides a registration and notification service
for information about ODRC offenders. This is
separate from the VINE service.

Per Sub S.B. 160 Roberta's Law, victims are

-.encouraged to register with DRC for written

notifications and additional services.

To register for separate offender notification:

+  Call the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and
Correction at 1-888-842-8464

»  Visit the ODRC website at
www.drc.ohio.gov/web/victim.htm#VINE
to download the registration form.

DEPARTMENT OF YOUTH SERVICES

Juvenile offender status is only accessible by having
the juvenile's offender identification number. The
Ohio Department of Youth Services (ODYS) can
provide the ID number to victims so they can
register for notifications.

VINE juvenile information and registration are only
available through the Ohio VINE toll-free number.

ODYS also offers information, referral, and
advocacy services for crime victims with juvenile
offenders in the Ohio department of Youth Services.
This is separate from the VINE service. To register
for separate ODYS offender notification and
services, please call 1-800-872-3132.

IMPORTANT!

Do not rely solely on VINE for your safety.
Make this service a part of your overall safety plan.
If you feel you may be at risk, take precautions
if the offender has already been released.

if you feel you are in danger, call 911.
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VICTIMS HAVE
THE RIGHT TO KNOW.

 1-800-770-0192

TTY:1-866-847-1298
www.vinelink.com
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OHIO VINE SERVICE

CUSTODY INFORMATION
To access offender custody information:

- Call1-800-770-0192
- TTY users call 1-866-847-1298

- Visit www.vinelink.com

- VINE Mobile and Mobile Patrol

REGISTRATION

You can register to receive notifications related
to custody status. You must register separately
for each type of notification.

If registering a phone number for call, you

will be asked to create a four-digit personal
identification number (PIN) that will be used to
confirm that the call was received. Make sure
your PIN is easy to remember.

To register your email address, either call the
Ohio VINE and press zero to speak with an
operator or visit www.vinelink.com. Email
notifications do not require a PIN.

IF YOUR PHONE NUMBER OR EMAIL CHANGES,
IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to call VINE at
1-800-770-0192 or go to www.vinelink.com and
follow the instructions on how to change your
phone, text or email registration. Unless you make
such changes, VINE will be unable to contact you
when necessary.

NOTIFICATION

You will be notified about the following events:

s County Jails - General Release, Transfer,
Escape, Death, Other

¢ Department of Rehabilitation & Correction
- General Release, Death, Transfer (from
state prison to state prison), 90 and 45
days before a parole hearing, parole
revocation (notification if the offender is
returned to prison), release from parole,
Transitional Control Review

« Department of Youth Services (must have
DYS youth number to register) - General
Release, Escape, Death

When VINE calls, listen to the message then
enter your PIN followed by the pound (#) key
when asked. Entering the PIN lets VINE know
that you received the call and will stop the
service from calling you again.

No PIN is required for email or text
notifications. You will receive one email when
there is a change in custody.

NOTIFICATION METHODS

. Phone Voice Message and/or
. Text Message and/or

«  Email message

TRANSFER OF OFFENDERS

When offenders are transferred to other
agencies VINE registration STOPS.

The VINE Registration expires automatically
when offender is transferred.

Individuals must re-register for VINE with the
new agency.

This publication was supported by 2011-VA-GX-0033, awarded by

the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, through

the Ohio Attorney General's Office.
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VICTIM RESOURCES

Ohio Attorney General's Office

Crime Victims Service
www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/victim
1-800-582-2877

Ohic Crime Victim Justice Center
www.ocvjc.org
www.victimsrightstoolkit.org
(614) 848-8500

1-866-665-3330

ACTION OHIO - Coalition for Battered Women
www.actionohio.org

(614) 825-0551

1-800-770-0192

Mothers Against Drunk Driving
www.madd.org
1-877-623-3435

Ohio Alliance to End Sexual Viclence (OAESV)
WWwWw.caesv.org

(216) 658-1381

1-888-886-8388 (toll-free)

Ohio CASA - Court Appointed Special Advocates
www.ohiocasa.org
(614) 224-2272

Ohio Coalition for Adult Protective Services
www.ocapschio.org
(614) 859-5071

Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction
www.drc.ohio.gov/victims/registration
1-888-842-8464

Ohio Department of Youth Services
Victim Services

www.dys.ohio.gov

(614) 644-6416

1-800-872-3132

Ohio Domestic Violence Network
www.odvn.org
1-800-934-9840

Ohio Victim Witness Association (OVWA)
www.OVWA.org
(614) 787-9000

Parents of Murdered Children
www.pomec.org
1-888-818-7662



