
APPENDIX A 
 
 
PRISON RAPE ELIMINATION ACT  (PREA) 
 
It is the policy of the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction to provide a safe, 
humane, and appropriately secure environment, free from the threat of sexual misconduct for all 
inmates by maintaining a program of prevention, detection, response, investigation, and tracking. 
The Department shall maintain a zero tolerance for sexual misconduct in its institutions and in 
any facilities with which it contracts for the confinement of inmates. Sexual misconduct among 
inmates and by staff towards inmates is strictly prohibited. All allegations of sexual misconduct 
and/or sexual harassment shall be administratively and/or criminally investigated.   
 
YOU HAVE THE RIGHT NOT TO BE SEXUALLY ABUSED OR HARASSED. 
 
Incidents or Suspicions of Sexual Abuse, Sexual Harassment and Retaliation can be reported to 
ANY STAFF Member: 
 

• Verbally to ANY STAFF MEMBER 
• In Writing to ANY STAFF MEMBER 
• Operations Support Center (614) 995-3584 (No cost to call from inmate phone) 
• Outside Agency Hot Line (614) 728-3155   (No cost to call from inmate phone) 
• Inmates in Restrictive Housing may also anonymously report sexual misconduct or 

retaliation by writing to: 
Bureau Chief of the Office of Quality Assurance and Improvement 
Ohio Department of Youth Services 
30 West Spring Street, 5th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio  43215 

 
Inmates shall be given the opportunity to remain anonymous upon request to the outside agency.   
 
There will be NO retaliation for reporting incidents of sexual abuse or harassment. 
 
Family and friends can report allegations of sexual abuse, sexual harassment, and retaliation on 
your behalf: 
 

• By calling (614) 995-3584   
• By emailing DRC.ReportSexualMisconduct@odrc.state.oh.us 

 
Within 7 days of your arrival or transfer to an institution you will watch an Ohio Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction, Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) education video.  The video 
will inform you of ODRC’s zero tolerance policy against sexual misconduct.  The video is in 
English with a deaf interpreter.  It also is closed caption with a Spanish outline at end of video.  
If you need additional assistance understanding anything in the PREA inmate education video or 
institution inmate handbook, see your unit staff.   
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PREVENTION/DETECTION 
 
All inmates shall be screened and assessed upon admission to the Department and for all 
subsequent intra-system transfers.  All inmates shall be assessed for risk of sexual victimization 
or abusiveness within 72 hours of intake and upon transfer to another institution. These 
screenings shall be initiated in the PREA Risk Assessment System by medical personnel during 
intake medical assessments and shall be completed by unit management within the 72 hour 
period.  No sooner than 15 days, but no later than 30 days from the inmate’s arrival at any 
institution, the inmate shall be reassessed regarding their risk of victimization or abusiveness 
based upon any additional, relevant information received since that institution’s intake screening 
of the inmate.  Unit management shall complete the assessments.   As a result of these 
screenings, inmates shall be assigned a PREA Classification.  
 
The Unit Management Chief or their designees shall make appropriate housing assignments 
based upon PREA Classifications. The information shall be used to assist in housing, bed, work, 
education, and programming assignments.  If it is learned that an inmate is subject to substantial 
risk of imminent sexual abuse, staff shall take immediate action to protect the inmate at risk of 
victimization. 
 
Mental Health Services shall attempt to conduct an evaluation on all known inmate-on-inmate 
abusers within 60 calendar days of learning of such history and offer treatment when deemed 
appropriate. 
 
Unless otherwise precluded by Federal, State, or local law, medical and mental health 
practitioners shall be required to report sexual abuse and to inform inmates of the practitioner’s 
duty to report, and the limitations of confidentiality at the initiation of services. 
 

OPPOSITE GENDER ANNOUNCEMENTS  
 

All staff members of the opposite-gender whether assigned to the unit or not shall make the 
following announcement upon their arrival in a housing unit: “Male/Female in housing 
unit.”  If at any time the staff member leaves and returns to the housing unit the preceding 
announcement shall be repeated.  The announcement is only required when an opposite-
gender staff enters a housing unit where there is not already another opposite-gender staff 
present.  If opposite gender staff remain in the unit during shift change, the announcement 
shall always be made at the beginning of each shift. 

 
All inmate health service departments, Frazier Health Center and Franklin Medical Center 
Zone A shall only announce once at the beginning of each shift.  Opposite gender medical 
staff are in these units at all times.  

 
Once the facility installs the PREA buzzer at the entrance of each housing unit it will 
replace the verbal announcement with a unique audible sound which will be heard at the 
farthest point within the housing unit. The only exceptions will be from 10:00pm to 8:00am 
at which time the verbal announcement shall be made instead of the use of the PREA 
buzzer. 
 
 



 
SELF-PROTECTION 

 
Be aware of situations that make you feel uncomfortable.  Trust your instincts.  If it feels wrong, 
LEAVE! 
 
Don’t let your manners get in the way of keeping yourself safe.  Don’t be afraid to say “NO” or 
“STOP IT NOW.” 
 
Many sexual abusers choose victims who look like they won’t fight back or are emotionally 
weak.  WALK AND STAND WITH CONFIDENCE. 
 
Avoid talking about sex, and casual nudity.  These things may be considered a come on, or make 
another inmate believe that you have an interest in a sexual relationship. 
 
Placing yourself in debt to another inmate can lead to the expectation of repaying the debt with 
sexual favors.  Do not accept commissary items or other gifts from other inmates. 
 
Avoid secluded areas.  Position yourself in plain view of staff members.  If you are being 
pressured for sex, report it to a staff member IMMEDIATELY. 
 

RESPONSE 
 
Upon report of an allegation of inmate sexual abuse, staff shall:  
 

1. Separate alleged victim and abuser. 
2. Request that the alleged victim not take any actions that could destroy physical 

evidence. 
3. Take appropriate steps to preserve, protect and collect any evidence. 

 
The institution will make available for the victim, a rape crisis center victim advocate if 
available, or a qualified institution victim support person.  
  

TREATMENT 
 
Medical Services Responsibilities 
Follow appropriate protocol, assuring appropriate examination, documentation, transport to the 
local emergency department, testing for sexually transmitted diseases, counseling, prophylactic 
treatment, follow-up, and referral for mental health evaluation.   
 
Mental Health Responsibilities  
Offenders referred to mental health by medical services following an allegation of 
sexual abuse shall be seen by an independently licensed mental health professional 
who shall complete further screenings or assessments consistent with Department policy. 
 
The victim will be offered medical and mental health evaluations and treatment as appropriate.  
Treatment shall be provided to the victim at no charge. 
 
The victim will be given access to victim advocates for emotional support, if needed, by 
providing them with mailing addresses and telephone numbers, including toll-free hotline 



numbers of local, State, or national victim advocacy or rape crisis organizations.  This 
information shall be provided to the unit staff for communication to the inmates. The telephone 
calls to outside support services are not confidential.   
 
The institution shall protect all inmates and staff who report sexual misconduct or cooperate with 
sexual misconduct investigations from retaliation by other inmates or staff.  
 
Emotional support services shall be offered to inmates or staff who fear retaliation for reporting 
sexual misconduct or for cooperating with investigations.  
 
 

MEDICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH FOLLOW-UP 
 
If the assessment indicates that the inmate is at risk or has experienced prior sexual 
victimization, whether it occurred in an institution setting or in the community, staff shall 
offer a follow-up meeting with a medical or mental health practitioner within 14 calendar 
days of the intake screening. This can be accomplished by the inmate requesting the service 
at the time of the assessment or by forwarding a kite to the medical or mental health 
departments. 
 
If the assessment indicates that the inmate is at risk or has previously perpetrated sexual 
abuse, whether it occurred in an institution setting or in the community, staff shall offer a 
follow-up meeting with a mental health practitioner within 14 calendar days of the intake 
screening.  This can be accomplished by the inmate requesting the service at the time of the 
assessment or by forwarding a kite to the mental health departments. 
  
 

INVESTIGATIONS 
 
All reports of sexual misconduct and retaliation shall be investigated and the findings 
documented in writing. 
 
No institution shall require an inmate who alleges sexual abuse to submit to a polygraph 
examination or other truth-telling device as a condition for proceeding with the investigation of 
such an allegation.  
 
The institution investigator shall monitor all cases of retaliation. 
 
A final decision on all allegations of sexual misconduct shall be issued by the institution 
investigator within 90 calendar days of the initial filing.  
 
If 90 calendar days is not sufficient to make an appropriate decision, the institution investigator 
may extend the decision up to 70 calendar days. The inmate shall be notified in writing of such 
extension and provide a date by which a decision will be made.  
 
Following an investigation into an inmate’s allegation that he or she suffered sexual abuse in an 
institution, the institution investigator shall inform the inmate as to whether the allegation has 
been determined to be substantiated, unsubstantiated, or unfounded. 


